Summer break book contemplations: When books become movies

I am taking a summer technology break, so I have pre-scheduled some posts. I’ll be back in August with reviews of the books I read on my holidays.

When books become movies

Last week Huff Post Books posted a trailer for the movie Life of Pi. In November, we get to see an Ang Lee interpretation of my favourite book. I keep a copy of it on my desk.

A little tiger obsessed?

I have clear pictures in my mind of what that characters look like. My imagination has already created the book for me. I’m afraid of what movie creators will do with this cherished story. Will their version live up to my expectations?

We encounter this question often, when books become movies. Sometimes movie makers stay true to the tale and enhance the experience for us, like they did with all the Harry Potter movies. Sometimes they make it better. I always liked the movie ending of The Firm by John Grisham better than the book version. Sometimes, though, I can’t bear the cinematic take on a favourite story. I don’t even want to be in the same room with the Ron Howard (starring Jim Carrey) version of How the Grinch Stole Christmas.

Do you have a favourite book that movie makers enhanced, or tarnished?

About Arlene Somerton Smith

Writer, laughing thinker, miner of inspirational insights, sports fan, and community volunteer

Posted on August 1, 2012, in Books that become movies, Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I was thinking the other day I need to re-read Life of Pi before the movie ruins it for me. I was re-reading The Great Gatsby last week and could not get Leonardo DiCapprio out of my mind. They have been showing the trailer for his version of the book due this Christmas. Once the movie exists it really does impact on the imagination. I almost never read a contemporary book after I have seen the movie.

    • I’m hoping that the movie doesn’t ruin the book for me, but I know that the image of Pi Patel will become whatever the movie image is once I’ve seen him, much like Harry Potter is Daniel Radcliffe in everyone’s minds now.

Leave a Reply

